Board and Staff

Ken Chilton, PhD

Ken Chilton, PhD
, CEO/President, (BA, Centre College: MPA and PhD, University of Louisville):

dr. chilton has an extensive background in applied community planning and community-based research. he has led comprehensive planning projects for towns and nonprofits in north carolina. in addition, his past research projects included redevelopment of blighted properties, community reinvestment in lower income neighborhoods and measuring the economic, social and community health impacts of brownfields redevelopments. prior to joining the ochs center, dr. chilton was the director of research at the kentucky legislative research committee's office of education accountability. in this capacity, he led studies on strategies to improve low performing schools, teacher quality, school leadership and college readiness. dr. chilton has also been a faculty member at the university of north carolina-charlotte, teaching classes in land use planning, environmental planning, planning theory, housing policy and leading service learning projects. ken can be reached at 423.425.5611 or by email.

Rick Mathis, Ph.D

Rick Mathis, Ph.D
, Director of Research and Analysis (B.A., University of Tennessee, M.A., Johns Hopkins University, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University). :

Rick joined the Ochs Center in 2010. He has an extensive background in health policy and research and has published in such journals as Health Affairs, Science, The Journal of Medical Ethics, and The American Journal of Managed Care. His areas of expertise include health care reform, evidence based medicine, and comparative effectiveness research. He was manager of Medical Policy Research and Development at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee where he also headed a task force on cultural competence and health care disparities. He is a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and serves on the Internal Medicine Research Committee at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine, Chattanooga. Rick can be reached at 423.425.5612 or by email.

2011-2012 Board Members


Ellen Hays, Chair

Jeannine Alday, Vice-Chair

Ben Pitts, Treasurer

Donna McConnico, Secretary

Domina Coleman Alford

Karlene Claridy

Anita Polk Conley

Helen Eigenberg

Doug Fisher

Brent Goldberg

Bill Johnson

Dan Johnson

Mary Elizabeth Lynch

Carol Newton

Erskine Oglesby

Phil Oldham

Edna Varner

Dr. Nancy Watts

Elder Witt Wellborn